'Dream to Fly' Wins Big at the 2nd season of YOUTH VIDEO AWARDS 2016

Kuala Lumpur, 26 August 2016 – ‘Dream to Fly’, an adaptation of a true story of a   poor boy from a small village, Kampung Muhibbah in Sandakan Sabah captured the hearts of the jury and won the Grand Prize of the Youth Video Awards 2016 to bring home RM8,000 cash and a winning trophy at the Grand Finale held in Sasana Kijang, Bank Negara Malaysia yesterday.
‘Dream to Fly’ produced by Dreamers of UiTM Puncak Perdana also bagged the Best Actor Award through Bhulat who played the character ‘Ameng” in the video, Best Lecturer Award and Best University Award.
Putri Purnama Sugua, the director, producer, scriptwriter and editor of ‘Dream to Fly’ is a final year student of Faculty of Filming, Theatre and Animation, UiTM Puncak Perdana who shared her true story with the audience at the Grand Finale.
“I produced this video with the intention of sharing the plight of poor children who deserve the rights to be treated equally, to receive proper education and to be accepted by the society. I hope one day the social stigma will eradicate where the children could be accepted by the society and we could do something to help them” said Putri Purnama who related on her experience of growing up in Kampung Muhibbah, Sandakan.
The 1st Runner up went to Chanceux Productions of Universiti Malaysia Sarawak with their winning entry “Samat”. They walked away with a trophy and 1st Runner Up Lecturer Award and cash RM5,000.
Meanwhile the 2nd runner up went to Group 5 of UiTM Puncak Perdana with their winning entry, “Kalbu Bonda” and 3rd runner up went to Sendu Production of UiTM Puncak Perdana with “Maaf Ayah”. Both production teams walked away with a winning trophy and cash RM2,000 and RM1,000 respectively. ’Kalbu Bonda’ also bagged the Best Actress Award through the character “Sarah” played by Nur Farhana bt Abdul Rahman.
7 other consolation winners received a plaque and RM500 cash each.
The Deputy Governor of Bank Negara Malaysia, Encik Abdul Rasheed bin Abdul Ghaffour presented the prizes to all the winners.
Speaking at the Awards ceremony, LIAM’s President, Mr. Toi See Jong commented, “The response has been overwhelming this year following a successful launch in the 1st season last year.  We would like to reach out to Gen Y and continue to engage with them so that they are exposed to the life insurance industry and enhance their understanding and appreciation for life insurance.
Through the Youth Video Awards platform, we put students of all races to work together in unity via nationwide classroom talks, collaboration with lecturers and edu-info roadshow engagements in Universities and colleges in the Klang Valley, Northern, Southern, East Coast, West Coast as well as Sabah and Sarawak. It is also through the Youth Video Awards that the industry would like to see youths from all creed and race united as Malaysians and contribute meaningfully towards nation building.  Indeed, the energy and brightness of the minds of the youths will go a long way in developing a progressive nation,” Toi added.
Dubbed as Malaysia’s largest inter-varsity social media production challenge, the Youth Video Awards 2016 has attracted 661 group entries from budding social media video producers in 24 Universities and colleges in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak.
11 production teams competed at the Grand Finale include UiTM Puncak Perdana (4), KDU University Glenmarie (1) Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (1), Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (1), Lim Kok Wing University of Creative Technology (1), KRU Academy (1) Saito College (1) and INTI University Nilai (1).
Through the Insurans Hayat Cares platform, LIAM is committed to sharing the message that life is precious, with a campaign mission, “Value Life, Capture Life and Share Life”.  The theme is all about You Only Live Once (YOLO) which aims to create awareness to Gen-Y on the importance of appreciating life and how short life is, as you only can live once.
Among those present at the awards ceremony were LIAM President, Mr Toi See Jong, LIAM Industry Promotion Committee Chairman, Mr Ramzi Toubassy, Dr. Sopian Bujang, Director, Students Affairs & Development Division, Ministry of Higher Education, film and social media celebrities namely  En. Feroz Kadir film director from Frontrow Pictures, Mr Jared Lee, from Grim Film Productions, Ms Marianne Tan, Famous Actress from Ola Bola the movie, Dato' Prof. A. Razak Hj. Mohaideen, Dean of Faculty Filming, Theatre dan Animation, UiTM Puncak Perdana, Cik Siti Nor Aiysha Masarudin from Talent Development, Perbadanan Kemajuan Filem Nasional Malaysia (FINAS), representatives from LIAM member companies, lecturers and students from participating universities.
The Youth Video Awards is a productive and creative collaboration with Malaysian Youth Community or MYC!, the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE)  and National Film Development Corporation Malaysia (FINAS).
For more information on LIAM Youth Video Awards, please visit www.youthvideoawards.com
In Support of